Board of Fire & Police Commissioners

The Board of Fire & Police Commissioners was created in 1981 Pursuant to ILCS Ch. 65, Act 5, § 10-2.1-1. The Board appoints all officers of the Police Department, with the exception of the Police Chief, and participates in disciplinary proceedings when appropriate.    Fire service in South Elgin is provided by a separate taxing entity, the South Elgin and Countryside Fire Protection District who has a commission of their own for appointing personnel. 

The Board consists of three members appointed for three year terms by the Village President.  Members of the commission include:  

  • Michael Nohl, Chairman
  • Chris Merritt, Secretary
  • Jeff Downey, Commissioner
Board of Fire & Police Commissioners

06/04/21 Agenda      
05/18/21 Agenda      
02/05/21 Agenda      
01/15/21 Agenda      
09/11/20 Agenda      
06/12/20 Agenda       Minutes      
04/03/20 Agenda       Minutes      
03/13/20 Agenda       Minutes      
02/28/20 Agenda       Minutes      
12/13/19 Agenda       Minutes      
11/22/19 Agenda       Minutes      
10/18/19 Minutes      
09/20/19 Minutes